New year, new me, new blog

Some of you may remember I had a blog before. I say “some” because, let’s be honest, I am pretty sure it was just my husband and bestie reading my blog. I wrote about fundraising and volunteering and all the other things a do-gooder would do. I considered deleting the old blog, but there were a few posts that held quite a bit of meaning to me. I also considered just moving forward with that blog, but things are quite a bit different now. So, I opted for a new blog with an equally cheesy name. (for those that are bored and looking to read old blog posts, here you go: http://www.daleyperspective.wordpress.com)

While I was looking at the old blog, I noticed that my last post was on March 3, 2015, thanking supporters for a recent fundraiser. Just two weeks later, things turned upside down and I was laid off from my job. After the emotional roller coaster, I decided (with a lot of encouragement from my husband) to go back to school to become a teacher. I have wanted to be a teacher for as long as I can remember. Then life happened. There were a million things that crossed paths with my dream and, quite frankly, I settled. I opted for comfort and safety. I took the easy route. But now I decided to be brave and have totally vested myself in this new career path.

And I am terrified.

What if I fail? What if I am the worst teacher ever? What if I can’t keep all these little people in some sort of orderly fashion? What if I am overrun by them all?? I often envision myself duct taped to a chair while my students run amok all around me. My very first day as a substitute teacher was a nightmare. The 30+ third graders were doing everything BUT listening to me. I came home exhausted and feeling somewhat defeated. And yet I plugged along. My own classes left little time for subbing, but I did try to sub whenever I could to not only get some experience but also to narrow down what grade levels I preferred.

And here I am, embarking on student teaching in the 4th grade. I have opted to return to blogging at this particular point in my transition because I feel there is so much for me to learn – hence the cheesy blog title!  I wanted to document this, mostly for myself, but also to hopefully prompt feedback from others. I think education is a constantly evolving field and I wanted to create a place where I can learn from my mistakes and remember my accomplishments.

Leave a Reply

